A far cry – Ensemble Ernst, Tanja Orning, Mark Adderley

Sounds of collapse, streams of consciousness, and a sonic zoo.

Photo: Juliana Schütz

Doors open 18:00
Event start 19:00
Duration: 90 minutes

Unfortunately we are currently experiencing technical issues with our online payment system. You can still purchase tickets via the invoice options (eg Klarna) as well as buying tickets on the door.

Rune Rebne: Solosooaadee (2022)  
Nhi Phuong Do, violin  

Arnulf Herrmann: Fiktive Tänze (2008, Norwegian premiere) 
Carola Bauckholt: Schlammflocke (2010)  
Mark Adderley: A Far Cry (Cello Concerto) (2022, World premiere)  
Tanja Orning, cello  
Ensemble Ernst  
Thomas Rimul, conductor 

Tonight’s musical feast, featuring Ensemble Ernst and soloists, features two German and two Norwegian composers who, in different ways, are exploratory and playful. Construction and organisation, and the sounds of industry and nature, are all ingredients in tonight’s concert. 

Rune Rebne (b. 1961) wrote Solosooaadee for violinist Nhi Phuong Do, and dates from Rebne’s self-styled ‘cubist period’ – music that’s raw, elegant and full of sharp corners. 

Acclaimed German composer Arnulf Herrmann (b. 1968) is rarely performed in Norway. In his Fiktive Tänze we find repetitive patterns which gradually become disturbed and destabilised – until the whole thing falls apart in the last movement.

In Carola Bauckholt’s (b. 1959) Schlammflocke you can hear creaking, drilling and scraping. In the background, a bustling hum of animal noises and twittering birds creates the feeling of being in a sonic zoo. It reinforces Bauckholt’s reputation as one of the most original voices in new German music. 

Mark Adderley (b. 1960) composes using a stream of consciousness, driven by intuitive processes. His new cello concerto A Far Cry is written for the well-known cellist Tanya Orning.  

PÅ! is all about the sounds of today. It’s a regular series of concerts and happenings highlighting the work of contemporary composers and performers. The series features the best musicians and ensembles playing music from a mix of well-known composers and newcomers.

The series is produced in collaboration with Therese Birkelund Ulvo and UR Productions. Supported by Komponistforeningen and Norsk Kulturråd.