Collaboration with Smalltown Supersound

In connection with the Trembling Earth exhibition, MUNCH has made a special collaboration with the Norwegian record label Smalltown Supersound.

18 of the label’s artists have created new tracks directly inspired by Edvard Munch’s atmospheric landscapes, organic processes and cosmic visions displayed in Trembling Earth. Ranging from experimental electronica to techno, ambient, jazz and improvisation, these are being released on a double LP which will be launched at the same time as the exhibition. 
‘Setting Edvard Munch’s cosmic artworks to music has been a dream project for us as a label,’ says Joakim Haugland, head of Smalltown Supersound. ‘The cosmic element has always been a central part of our history, so fusing our music with the cosmic side of Munch is a huge honour.’  
‘It has been important for us to include a contemporary perspective in the exhibition with these two commissioned works,’, says exhibition curator Trine Otte Bak Nielsen. ‘Lost Girls’ Join the Sound helps to set the tone as visitors are entering the exhibition, and Deathprod brings everything to a close with his monumental Let Me Be Forever Animal in the final room. They both bind the whole exhibition together, and take it into atmospheres that provide a new way into Munch’s work.’ 
‘We are incredibly proud of our collaboration with Smalltown Supersound, and the release of the Jordsvingninger LP,’ Nielsen adds. ‘This kind of collaboration shows how MUNCH can engage in projects that people might not expect to see in a museum, as well as several live events at MUNCH.’ 
Reflecting the diversity of the label’s roster, Both Norwegian and international artists are included on the compilation:  
Actress Barker André Bratten Kara-Lis Coverdale Deathprod Bendik Giske Yoshinori Hayashi Arve Henriksen & Kjetil Husebø Anja Lauvdal Lindstrøm Lost Girls Eivind Lønning Lasse Marhaug Johanna Orellana Kelly Lee Owens Perila rRoxymore Carmen Villain