Eliane Radigue - Occam Ocean Concert & Conversation

Sophisticated drones and tones from a French composing legend.

Photo: Delphine Blast

Doors open 19:30
Conversation start 20:00
Performance start 21:00

NyMusikk Salon with Silvia Tarozzi and Nate Wolley

After spending decades working primarily with electronic music, Radigue has developed a form of bespoke acoustic composition, in which sonic concepts are worked out in close collaboration with dedicated instrumentalists. How does the process happen? Where does the performer’s influence begin and end in the compositional method? Violinist Silvia Tarozzi and trumpeter Nate Wooley in conversation with nyMusikk’s artistic director Bjørnar Habbestad. 

Éliane Radigue

Occam River II (for violin and cello) 
Occam River XXV (for viola and percussion) 
Occam Hexa IV (for violin, viola, cello, trumpet and percussion)

Éliane Radigue (b. 1932) is one of the most important living composers of the past century. She became a part of the 1960s ‘musique concrete’ movement in Paris; then produced an extraordinary and influential body of electronic synthesizer music from the late 1960s until 2002 (despite very little public acclaim or recognition). Inspired by Tibetan Buddhism and meditations, she explored drones and overtones with a deep emotional effect.

More recently she has turned to composing for musicians and acoustic instruments. In this later phase she has created a body of music that draws on the sonority of her earlier work whilst extending it into fascinating new realms.

Tonight sees the Norwegian premieres of three pieces from Radigue's Occam series for acoustic instruments, performed by five of her celebrated ‘chevaliers’: Silvia Tarozzi (violin), Deborah Walker (cello), Julia Eckhardt (viola), Nate Wooley (trumpet) and Enrico Malatesta (percussion).

This concert is presented by MUNCH in collaboration with The Edition Festival for Other Music, Stockholm and nyMusikk.
Hexa IV commissioned with support of Kulturrådet, Sweden.